Gallery

Should I carry hydration pack during the NYC Marathon?

As  the NYC Marathon fast approaches, I’ve really started thinking about race-day details.

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve really enjoyed using my hydration pack during training, but I was wondering what people think about using it during the actual race.

During previous races, I’ve never carried my own hydration, but I’m not a big fan of getting stalled and sloshed at stations during the race.

I have my last 20-miler this weekend, so I would love to hear any feedback as I make some final adjustments.

Thanks!

7 responses to “Should I carry hydration pack during the NYC Marathon?

  1. if you train with the hydration pack you might as well use it in the race

  2. You should wear the pack, then if you see a quiet water station you can always take advantage! Good Luck!

  3. I’m training for my first full too, but have always carried a hand held water bottle in half’s. I switched over to a fuel belt and plan to wear it for MCM. I’m sure I will still use the water stations, but it’s comforting to know that you have it if you need it. Best of luck with the next few weeks of training!

  4. I really think that is a matter of personal preference…some ppl prefer it so they don’t have to make the stops, others can easily stop and quickly take sips without it affecting their time…all up to you. Personally I have always used a handheld as opposed to the fuel belt for my training and typically I will utilize the water stations esp. for their gatorade in the later parts of the race. But yeah, make sure you have a plan as far as fueling going in and you will do great 🙂

Leave a Reply. We love to hear from you!

